northampton business centre


A National Vocational Qualification (NVQ) is a competence-based qualification which uses practical, work-related tasks to help develop the skills and knowledge needed to do a job effectively.

NVQs are based on national standards for a variety of occupations. The standards state what a competent person in a job could be expected to do.


Who should take them?

  • NVQs are available to all ages
  • You must be employed in the chosen field of study
  • Ideal for people who want to improve on their skills or who are just starting their career

What are NVQs equivalent to?

NVQ Level 1

  • GCSEs grades D-G
  • BTEC Introductory

NVQ Level 2

  • GCSEs grades A*-C
  • Apprenticeship
  • BTEC First

NVQ Level 3

  • AS/A2 Level
  • Access to HE
  • Advanced Apprenticeship
  • BTEC National

NVQ Level 4

  • Foundation Degree (FdA)
  • HND
  • Professional Programmes


Find out about Train to Gain funding...

View our Guide to Workplace Training


Contact us today on 01604 734 323 Tell us what you think...